Rising artist’s note blog thing 10#

testing(first off, I apologies for the horrible quality of the drawing, it was too large for the scanner and I had to use my mobile to take a picture of it, if anyone knows a more efficient way of digitizing drawing please do tell -w-)

despite on how horrible the drawing looks, I am still proud that I managed to draw this, this is what months and months of studying and practicing on drawing american-styled art has produced (no where near what I expected myself to achieve but oh well…baby steps -w-). from what I have expected. pretty much the entire artwork goes to anatomical correctness (basically, mess up one part of the drawing and the entire thing and ruined) but then again, anatomical correctness is also found in manga so what’s different? well you define the muscles on both the female and male bodies (except that the females have less muscle definition), when it comes to drawing the face, the lips for both gender have to at least be detailed and that the chins mustn’t be pointy (it has to be rounded). I also noticed that the structure (or the rough draft form of drawing both the body and the head) is completely different, when I drew manga-styled art, I used cubes but in american, I am using circles (not a big surprise). I read once in a how to draw book (chris hart, cutting edge anatomy and comic) that drawing women with shoulders wider than hips and actually considered attractive. finally, when drawing the hair, instead of drawing the hair as one piece but as separate parts (go look at women drawn in manga and comics and you’ll know what I mean).

and I believe that’s it for my report on what I’ve learned so far, as always, if you have any tips for me, please do tell -w- have a nice day

*update

I happen to found this by mistake (I was looking for another book), http://www.amazon.com/Drawing-Cutting-Edge-Fusion-Influence/dp/0823001601/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1377900949&sr=1-3&keywords=drawing+cutting+edge+anatomy , somehow, this book teaches you how to draw american-styled comics with a fusion of manga. now I can simply order this book, make my life easier and learn the basics much quicker but you know what. that wouldn’t be fun at all, I am the type that likes the hard route (I find it more exciting) rather than the easier route. anyway, for those who don’t want to spend hours and hours and even days looking online for books about how to draw manga and comics, this is for you but as for me…..I am sticking to what I am doing now (heavy research of both styles -w-)

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

